Baroque music in refined jazz arrangements. Monteverdi and Purcell to modern swing beats and electronic sounds. Improvisations to a Ciaccona by Castaldi, a Largo by Barbara Strozzi underlaid with jazz sounds and the oriental sounds lead us into a new sound culture.

At the end of October we will produce the CD…

Baroque music is freer in texture due to the principle of continuo playing than music composed in the following epochs. There is room for ornamentation, phrasing and improvisation. Especially in the cantatas and instrumental works of the early Baroque, these elements are much more present. From the Viennese Classical period onwards, ornamental improvisation disappears and exact notation, which prescribes to the performers exactly how the music is to be performed, gains in importance.A new sound culture that combines yesterday, today and tomorrow in a symbiosis. Sophisticated arrangements with many facets of jazz, as well as a mixture of spherical sounds, filigree swing, electronic DJ interjections and baroque melodies. Improvisation to a baroque Ciaccona, a Monteverdi Lamento accompanied by jazz harmonies.

No, non fuggire by Scarlatti powerfully and passionately staged, arranged with modern rhythms and new sounds, or Monteverdi’s Lamento della Ninfa, gently and sensitively accompanied by a jazz piano and baroque continuo playing. Handel’s Vo far from the opera Rinaldo with virtuoso colleratures, a crystal clear voice sung by Laila Salome Fischer, embedded in fiery jazz licks.

With this project, we want to create new worlds of sound in order to bring classical music with jazz and electronic elements to a broad audience. Both music genres have unfortunately been displaced by pop music and are not perceived by young listeners in particular. Modern grooves with virtuoso accompaniment and soulful and expressive vocals by the soprano create new modern sounds that are sure to have many snapping their fingers and certainly dancing to them. No dry and boring academic performance; joy of playing, and combining strengths of both worlds as a musical symbiosis. Entertainment in classical music and jazz at the highest level: that is Baroque ‘n’ Jazz.

Of course, what makes the Pera Ensemble special is its connection to the Orient. Improvisation plays a very important part in oriental music. Thus the musical bridge to the Baroque but especially to Jazz is built. Modal, highly virtuosic improvisations are combined with jazz and baroque length.

A sound experience never heard before awaits us.

Barockmusik in raffinierten Jazzarrangements. Monteverdi und Purcell zu modernen Swing Beats und elektronischen Klängen. Improvisationen zu einer Ciaccona von Castaldi, ein Largo von Barbara Strozzi unterlegt mit Jazzklängen und die orientalischen Klänge führen uns in eine neue Klangkultur.

Ende Oktober werden wir die CD produzieren…

Barock Musik ist in der Beschaffenheit durch das Prinzip des Continuospiels freier als Musik, das in den folgenden Epochen komponiert wurde. Hier gibt es Raum für Ornamentik, Phrasierungen und Improvisationen. Speziell in den Kantaten und Instrumentalwerken des Frühbarocks sind diese Elemente viel stärker vorhanden. Ab der Wiener Klassik verschwindet die verzierende Improvisation und die exakte Notation, die den Interpreten genau vorschreibt, wie die Musik aufzuführen ist gewinnt an Bedeutung.Eine neue Klangkultur, die Gestern, Heute und Morgen miteinander in einer Symbiose verbindet. Ausgeklügelte Arrangements mit vielen Facetten des Jazz, sowie eine Mischung von sphärischen Klängen, filigranem Swing, elektronischen DJ Einwürfen und barocken Melodien. Improvisation zu einer barocken Ciaccona, ein Monteverdi Lamento begleitet mit Jazzharmonien.

No, non fuggire von Scarlatti kraftvoll und leidenschaftlich inszeniert, arrangiert mit modernen Rhythmen und neuen Klängen, oder Monteverdis Lamento della Ninfa, sanft und gefühlvoll begleitet von einem Jazzpiano und barockem Continuospiel. Händels Vo far aus der Oper Rinaldo mit virtuosen Kolleraturen, einer glasklaren Stimme gesungen von Laila Salome Fischer, eingebettet in feurigen Jazzlicks.

Wir wollen mit diesem Projekt neue Klangwelten schaffen, um klassische Musik mit Jazz und elektronischen Elementen einem breiten Publikum nahebringen. Beide Musikrichtungen sind leider durch die Pop-Musik verdrängt worden und werden gerade von jungen Hörern nicht wahrgenommen. Moderne Grooves mit virtuoser Begleitung und gefühlvollem und ausdrucksstarken Gesang der Sopranistin entstehen neue moderne Sounds, bei denen sicher viele mit dem Finger schnipsen und sicher auch dazu tanzen werden. Keine trockene und langweilige akademische Aufführung; Spielfreude, und Stärken beider Welten als musikalische Symbiose vereinen. Unterhaltung in Klassik und Jazz auf höchstem Niveau: Das ist Baroque `n` Jazz

Natürlich ist das besondere des Pera Ensembles die Verbindung zum Orient. Improvisation nimmt in der orientalischen Musik einen sehr wichtigen Teil ein. Somit ist die musikalische Brücke zum Barock aber besonders zum Jazz geschlagen. Modale hoch virtuose Improvisationen reihen sich in Jazz und Barocklänge ein. 

Ein noch nie gehörtes Klangerlebnis erwartet uns